Navel… live

I filmed Navel’s CD launch here in Basel in February. Kat Kunz came along too and we each had a DSLR on the stage. Kat did a really good job with the fisheye, although I think at times the bassist felt a tad uncomfortable with how close she was coming! I’m not as happy with my own stuff with the 55mm, but cut up with the fisheye it works well. I put my little sound recorder on the desk, so the sound is pretty much what the audience heard – and yes, there is a lot of talking…

I have about 10 songs all cut and uploaded but not accessible anymore as Navel asked me not to show them. But I left one on the youtube.com/waypastbedtime channel and this one as unlisted. Go on the channel if you want to see the other one which is probably my favourite from a filming point of view. Although I do like the one I show you here as it has quite a bombastic energy to it. I think it came out very nicely.

If you’ve a band and you want your live show filmed, let me know.

Leave a comment